reflect

interim feedbackAssement feedback for Interim show                                                        18/03/2011

Research (55-69) (2:2) –

Not enough contextual research – what theories are you engaging with as backdrop for your relational practise? More theoretical context as relevant artists in this area are important for me to identify and situate myself.

More self reflective stuff about myself, my ideas and my projects.

I need to address the problems in my work – its not good enough to say that this does not lie well within art practise  Why not? Explore the issues of my work in this art context. If I am aware of my critical flaws I can achieve a stronger artist credibility. If I expose them properly.

More reflective writing

Discuss theorists and explicitly how I relate to them

How my work responds to their ideas.

I MUST PRESENT MY THEORETICAL BACKDROP ALONGSIDE HOW MY PRACTISE RESPONDS TO AND IS INFORMED BY IT. BISHOP, BOURRIAUD, KESTER, WHAT DO I THINK AND HOW AM I APPLYING MY THOUGHTS.

Analysis (55-69) (2:2) –

Many of your projects feel like exciting explorations – now is the time to analyze and situate them.

A lot of my work looks at the emptiness of capital exchange – bring these problems to the surface of my work. CD shop was empty of content and the twitter social media is void of emotional substance – empty void of human expression.

What are the core things about my work im trying to say?

Emptiness in media and capitalism , fragile networks.

Performing these states of being. Emptiness of cultural exchange.  Connections made in gallery must lead to something more.

Subject knowledge (55- 69) (2:2) –

Write about books that I read more that relate to cultural philosophy –

Follow up dissertation writing.

Boris Groys articles for e-flux

Clay Shirky

Lewis Hyde – ‘The Gift’

Dialouges on mobility and location

Read about narrative forms – making methods to create stories in real time.

Experimentation (70-84) 2:1 –

Twitter theatre was an engaging way to extend your previous work. There are some technical things to iron out in order to prevent the viewer/participant from feeling isolated/confused.  More direction needed.

REFINE my technical structure/ presentation of the work e.g. flatscreen monitor for tweetscripts.

General comments and advice on how to improve your work in the future –

TWITER THEATRE

‘Where the work suffers is really where its structure fails. You seem to be torn between a play with improvisation (the viewer gets to act something through an instruction out of their control) and, in fact, your control (the boundries you establish).

What do I want the outcome of the participation to be? How am I controlling and what does it mean to do this in this way?When Twitter Theatre is on loop it presents a memory of an ephemeral medium.My presentation and technical competence is exellent however I lack deep theoeretical poise and where my work exists within those subject areas.

Leave a Reply

