red suitcase retrospective

I feel i would like to write up some thoughts about this project now it has been reviewed and settled for some time.
I think the artists who viewed the film found it difficult to like because of its falsification. By falsification im relating to its aesthics and its short film mode. As i have said my intentions were to make it a live public performance and that it was, however i think that the short film form as documentation deceives this.

My background is in film, for the past year i have been critically studying cinema and producing my own videos and this has affected the works. My record of the performance was captured from 2 different angles and i even did some re-takes! It felt like i was on a film shoot, not doing a live performance.

I focused on recording the piece with film because i feel experienced with that. However my own aesthetic desires affected the edit because i turned it into a polished 3 minute short, with a cinematic soundtrack. The problematic thing that i am discussing now is that it has the appearance a short film but is a public performance work. It looks too romantic and dramatic to be a truthful documentation and when a piece of work is not fully engaged with a form it loses balance.

The red suitcase film has been sent to short film festivals but in that cinematic category it is not good enough. And it is rejected by artists because of its melodramatic soundtrack and cinematic qualities that polish the piece rendering it confused conceptually. So i feel like the work hangs between these two forms but does not fully engage with either leaving it like two tastes that don’t compliment each other.

Jordan Baseman said that visually the balloons coming out of the briefcase action was so melodramatic it should be done like a magician with more theatrics. Because of my interest in the ‘happenings’ movement a more theatrical approach seemed awkward because of ‘happenings’ anti-theatre sensibilities.
I have been an actor for 8 years till my interest in cinema lead me into digital technical design and performance. When i perform my works i struggle to avoid theatrical mode, because i have never performed differently, and when i edit documentation i am influenced by my studies in film and video.

I have been learning about new ways to perform and document in my performance elective. I think the documentation should be recorded by other forms of media, to avoid the final composition of the work to be influenced by my cinema education. I shall detach the performance and presentation of the documentation during the process otherwise they adapt and complicate each other. Once the documentation is presented it is very hard for the artist to reflect and communicate the art differently.

These are methods i need to take to be able to build on my background in theatre and cinema while presenting them in a performance art form.

Leave a Reply

